Twitter’s New Safety Mode Lets Users Protect Themselves Against Harassment

Having a public social media profile means that you’ll no doubt have to deal with comments and messages from strangers, some of it complimentary, and some of it being harassment. While it is part of having a public and sometimes highly visible profile, it does not mean that you have to put up with it.

In fact, if you use Twitter, the company has introduced a new feature called Safety Mode. According to Twitter, “Safety Mode is a feature that temporarily blocks accounts for seven days for using potentially harmful language — such as insults or hateful remarks — or sending repetitive and uninvited replies or mentions. When the feature is turned on in your Settings, our systems will assess the likelihood of a negative engagement by considering both the Tweet’s content and the relationship between the Tweet author and replier.”

The company states that accounts you frequently interact with won’t be blocked, meaning that you can still have friendly (and insulting) banter with your friends on Twitter that won’t get your accounts blocked.

Twitter does have ways of helping users protect themselves against harassment. One of those ways is to make your Twitter account private, but the advantage to Safety Mode is that you don’t really need to do anything on your end, all you need to do is flip the switch and you’re good to go.

Filed in General. Read more about . Source: blog.twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

  ⁄  one  =  nine